Ravellenic Winter Games 2014

What do crochet, knit, and the Olympics have in common? The Ravellenic Winter Games 2014!

First, let me back up. Have you heard of Ravelry yet? If you work with any kind of needle art, whether it be crocheting, knitting, loom knitting, felting, you need to go there right now.

I mean it. Go now. Here is a link. I can wait.

Did you check it out? Pretty amazing, isn’t it?

Well, Ravelry is the first place I go to to find yarny patterns, inspiration, and camaraderie for my craft. Whether you like to just browse patterns and projects, or join in groups and share your work, or simply organize your own projects and yarn stash, Ravelry is an amazing site to be apart of.

So back to the Olympics. Each set of Olympics, there is a huge group of knitters, crocheters and yarn artists who get together and compete while watching the Olympics. The goal is to challenge yourself to complete a project (or sometimes finish something that has been sitting for far too long!) during the games. There are different events that you can enter in and different teams to participate alongside with. For example, I have joined with the FreshStitches team. They are a great group of people. If you enjoy crocheting animals, I highly recommend you check the group out.

For events I plan on participating in several, but for starters I’ll be  working on finishing up some WIPs that have been laying around the house. I’ll enter them into the WIPs Dancing Event. I’ll also be participating in Toy Tobogganing, and maybe the Hat Halfpipe. How fun are those names? The whole goal of the games is to challenge yourself and have fun. There are “medals” that are awarded, but I’ll be honest, I’m not exactly sure how that bit works. I’m just in it for an excuse to watch the Olympics, crochet a lot, and have fun talking about it with my friends on Ravelry.

Here are my plans for the first few days of the games.

I need to finish up the Tinkerbell doll that I have started for my niece. Ideally, I’d like to finish this up by today … but I don’t know if I will be able to. I might have to take it with me when I go to visit my sister for the weekend, and finish it while I’m there.

tinkerbell wipNext up, will be to finish this blue teddy bear that has been sitting unfinished, for over 6 months! He literally only needs to be stuffed and sewn up. All the crocheting has already been done. Poor neglected guy.

blue teddy bear wip

And then finally, I will be entering into the Aerial Unwind event. In this event, you take a WIP that you have had laying around, unwind it and repurpose the yarn for another project! I have had these wrist wraps sitting on my shelf for over a year. I am ashamed to admit that. When I first started them, I had miscalculated the amount of yarn I would need. Originally, I intended on buying more, but then I never got around to it. Sometimes, there are projects that fall flat, for whatever reason, and I don’t want to finish them. This was definitely one of those times. The annoying part, is that the yarn is terrible to pull out. I tackled this project first, and I’m glad I did.

aerial unwind before

aerial unwind allwoundup

It will eventually become a snail, I think. I have a fun idea for a shell that I’ve seen floating around Ravelry, and I really want to try it out.

Will you be participating in the Ravellenics? Is there something else that you like to do while watching the Olympics? I am so excited to have something to break up these cold winter days here. I know the kids will enjoy watching the games and I’ll enjoy challenging myself to complete some projects that have been nagging at me or otherwise just sound like fun!

6 responses to “Ravellenic Winter Games 2014

  1. I love those projects!!! And the yarn that you reclaimed! ;) Is that Noro? I totally did the same thing about 2 years ago and got rid of WIPs that I just didn’t love any more. I want to get to some of those this summer when I have more time off…or maybe spring break.

    I couldn’t commit to the Ravolympics so I’m just knitting. :)

    Like

  2. Oh these are AWESOME!!! Also… I keep thinking about those wrist warmers you made for Tiffany and I totally want to make my own pair now. :P I think you said you bought the pattern somewhere?

    Like

Leave a Reply

