The Big 3-0

Ray Bradbury quotes
Picture credit goes to Quote Coyote

A couple of weeks ago I was reading an article about Ray Bradbury. In it, he says that he waited until he was 30 before publishing his first book, Farenheit 451. “Worth waiting for, huh?”

Then it hit me, I’m about to turn 30, and I have no great work that I have or am about to accomplish. Wow. Let that sink in for a minute.

Bradbury recommends writing short stories before you try to write a book. Books are too long. He says to write one short story every week for a year. You are bound to write a good one. They can’t all be lemons.

It’s hard not to feel discouraged that I haven’t been working towards one great goal the last 10 years of my life. I could say that graduating college was my goal, and that I accomplished that, all while being married, raising kids and working towards starting my own small crochet business. Somehow, that just doesn’t seem like enough. It certainly isn’t Farenheit 451 enough.

I could let this get me discouraged, but I’m not going to let it. I view it more as a kick in the pants for myself. For the first time ever, I am working toward something. I’m crocheting and selling what I make, I’m writing patterns, and even blogging. Blogging is a sort of creation, too. The more you do it, the better you will get.

So this is my approach with blogging, pattern writing, crocheting, and selling. At this point, I don’t feel like I’m doing anything ground breaking. But I’m not letting that stop me from pushing forward and continuing to try¬†and improve.

I want to encourage you to keep pushing forward, creating and publishing. Don’t let fear of not having everything figured out stop you. You don’t have to be perfect now. You will perfect your art and work as you go. Part of the perfection-process is in the practice and in the feedback you get from others. You will never get feedback or get better if you don’t try.

2 responses to “The Big 3-0

  1. Hi! this was such a great post to read. I recently turned 30 last month and I had the same feelings you mentioned here. Is it enough? I graduated college, married, and now what? For some reason I feel like I need more. Maybe it’s the idea in our head that we must have more for ourselves? That’s a good thing, though! We just want more in life, especially now that we’re (you’re soon to be!) 30. =) I promise it gets better as I heard you don’t start living till your 30s, and I agree!! <3

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind words. I am actually looking forward to 30 quite a lot. I’m excited for what it may bring and feel much more confident in myself and my ability to accomplish things, than I ever did before. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

