WIP Wednesday 3

WIP WednesdaysYesterday, I promised to show you what I have been working on. I have quite a few projects on hooks and needles this week. First up is Camila the Cow, pattern by Adrialys Designs. I want to add greater variety to the amigurumi I sell, so this year I plan on adding several farm animals. Woodland creatures will be making an appearance, soon, as well. On a side note, taking pictures of black and white is really hard. If you have any tips or tricks on how to accomplish this, I would love to hear them!

camila WIP

Poor Camila, in parts and pieces. Don’t worry, you’ll be finished soon.

Next up is a custom order ladybug. The customer asked me to make the eyes smaller than on the typical ladybug that I do. I’m still waiting to hear back from her to see if this eye size will work, but I have a hunch it will.

ladybug WIP

Look at those cute little eyes!

Finally, I try to get in some personal crafting time as well. It’s hard to fit in, since I tend to crochet at nights and on weekends for my work. But everyone needs a break once in awhile and crafting for myself refuels my creative juices. I chose to whip up myself a Circle Knit Dishcloth, and when I say whip up, I mean work on it for 3 weeks. This is one week’s work.

I have a confession. I love knit dishcloths. The texture is just perfect, the cotton absorbs so much water, and they’re just fun and pretty. If you have to do dishes, you might as well like looking at the cloth, right? I know it brightens my day to use them.

circle knit dishcloth WIP

This is my first time doing any sort of fancier color work with knitting, aside from a stripey scarf. I love the result.

I often get asked if I sell knitted projects. The answer is no. There are two main reasons. First, is that I’m a pretty slow knitter. It really isn’t advantageous to sell slowly knit items, that I can do almost ten times faster with crochet. Second is that I give away or sell roughly 90% of my crocheted items. Knitting is for myself or my immediate family members. It makes it special for me, and helps me keep the joy within the process. I love creating crochet items for other people and customers, I really do. But knitting is my purely relaxing and creative hobby. I think that sums it up best. Crochet is my business. Knitting is my hobby.

Well thank you for joining me today. If you would like to see other creative works by bloggers, click on the picture below to head on over to Tami’s Amis WIP Wednesdays and see what other’s are up to today!

tami_wip

2 responses to “WIP Wednesday 3

Leave a Reply

