Balance

This week is all about balance for me. In that I’m trying to figure it out and I don’t have any. :)

I am still very much trying to figure out how to juggle everything. I feel like I haven’t recuperated from finishing up my last semester of classes yet. Usually after a month out of classes I finally start to feel better, but I’m not quite there yet. In some respects, this is good because it means I’ve been pushing myself. Previous semesters when school ended, I would bide my time and relax — to the point of not doing anything — because I knew that school would start up again and my frenzied life would continue. Now I’m setting personal and business goals which are keeping me busy. 

After my last post, I definitely feel the pressure to follow through with all of my crochet related goals. That’s a good thing. What isn’t so good is the feeling that I have to get everything done RIGHT NOW! It’s not working and I will admit these last three or four days of “working” at home in the mornings have been very distracted and not nearly as productive as I want them to be.

So yesterday I set out to make things at home run a little bit smoother. That has meant some major cleaning and decluttering. So far, two full trash bags full of decluttering (where does all this stuff come from?!) I’ve started with my kids home school supplies section, and I think things are looking a lot better. I have clearly defined what can and cannot go on the home school bookshelf, and I’m going to be better about not letting my kids just set things there instead of putting them away where they belong. It took me hours to go through the piles of junk works of art, worksheets, toys, books, etc. but I think I am about there. Sadly, every corner of my house needs this kind of attention, as I have been long neglecting things here at home in favor of writing lengthy literature papers on James Joyce and Vietnamese culture these last 5 months.

Sorry for the cell phone picture. I wasn't actually intending to blog about this until I realized how theuraputic it had been. Do you ever have those moments when you feel like you have bitten off more than you can chew? Yeah, that was right here.

Sorry for the cell phone picture. I wasn’t actually intending to blog about cleaning until I realized how therapeutic it had been. Do you ever have those moments when you feel like you have bitten off more than you can chew? Yeah, that was right here.

All of that clutter, and more, was on this black bookshelf. Now, only things that we actively use, on at least a weekly basis, except maybe that ancient Vitalogy tomb, is on the shelf. The kids are only allowed one reading book, in addition to their library books (because that’s where we keep them). I know that sounds harsh, but at the end of a typical day I have to clear the couch of 6 or 7 books that have been left behind by the day’s various reading. I love that my kids read so much. I just dislike cleaning up after them all day long.

The shelf after.

The shelf after.

children dictionary

Art Supplies

Art supplies, greatly reduced in number and nicely organized.

A peak into what my kids are reading right now.

A peak into what my kids are reading right now.

I’m hoping that this brings more balance here at home. Clearly defined work areas and fun areas, and some peace of mind that the house isn’t so bad, so that I can focus on what really needs my focus: my husband, my kids, and definitely more crochet.

Also, at the end of the day, or early next morning to be exact, it’s the small things in life that make it worth it. Like finding this long forgotten outlet timer and hooking it up to my $2 Goodwill coffee pot and not having to make my coffee in the morning.

timer and two dollar coffeepot

*Breath deep that relaxing sigh* Ahhhh, a quiet, early-morning moment of bliss.

need my coffee

I wasn’t the only one to enjoy the organization. This is what Paige was doing at 6:50 am this morning. It’s amazing when you clean up the treasures you can find.

stickers

5 responses to “Balance

  1. You just might inspire me….I have 2 bookshelves that need to be cleaned off….from homeschooling…..and I haven’t homeschooled in 2 years now!!! I had plans to do it last summer but the pool, my rocking chair and knitting got in the way! ;)

    It is very therapeutic though….I have to do that with my knitting area from time to time and then I feel all better to move forward with my projects. :)

    Like

  2. I feel like I’m constantly organizing – both on the home front and on a craft front… after any major project I have to have a major pick up and put away and organize session. It’s theraputic but I do wish it didn’t take so much time and I could easily go from one project to the next!

    Your shelf looks very nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

